100 Years of further Jarral Zaildari Nazaam- Under Dogra rule - 1846 to 1947

As the battle between the ruling Jarrals and the joint forces of the Dogras and British came to end, the Jarral ruler commanded that the non-ruling Jarrals were to be left alone. So only the ruling family (Rehlu Jarral Rajputs) were extradited graceful to Wazierabad, Punjab. Please read about this honorable family by clicking here.

Now the next generation of Jarrals joined the Dogra administration system participating partly in the collection of taxes under the 'Zaildari' system. The two prominent Zaildar families were the Jarral Rajputs from Prote with full 32 villages and 'Bal Jaralain' with 16 villages under their due restriction. Each village had to have a 'Numberdar' who would answer to the Zaildar for his village's tax collectibles. Again because the Jarrals already were running/ aware of the previous system, due to their competence they were also chosen to managed the Numberdari Nazam by majority. Although, high taxation was the Central Dogra Governments policy which incorporated 80% unless you owned the land. The land owner would pay around 10%. In Jarrals case they owned bulk of land themselves therefore paying the minimum. These lands were called 'Jageers'.

Known Zaildars in Rajouri

  • Mirza Pir Buksh - Brote Jarral
  • Mirza Khuda Buksh - Brote Jarral
  • Mirza Mohammad Hussain - Brote Jarral
  • Mirza Raj Mohammad - Bal Jarrl

The followings are whats being quoted about Jarrals in an offical indian website for Rajouri:

Quoted from 'The official website of Rajouri District - 12-12-04' (www.rajouri.nic.in/history.htm)

'Albaurni visited Rajouri with Sultan Masud (Son of Sultan Mehmud) in 1036 A.D. In his book "India" he wrote name of Rajouri as Raja Vari. Srivar, the writer of 'Raj Tirangini' written during the regime of Sultan Zain-Ul-Abdin, also named this area as Raja Vari. It appears that Raja Vari is the changed shape of Raj Puri. Praja Bhat another writer of Raj Tirangini of 16th century A.D. wrote this place as Raj-Vare in his book. Mirza Zafarulla Khan writer of ‘Tarikh Rajgan-E-Rajour’ described in his book that this place was originally known as Raj-Avar and then changed from Rajour to Rajouri. But the old people in the villages still call the place as Rajour. With the passage of time the name changed from Raja's Raj Avar to Raja Puri, Rajpuri to Raj Vari, Raj Vari to Raj Vara, Raj Vara to Raj Avar, Raj Avar to Rajour and then Rajour to Rajouri. As per Rajtirangini of Kalhan, Rajouri emerged as principality in about 1003 A.D. The first ruler of this kingdom was Raja Prithvi Paul. From 1033 A.D. to 1194 A.D. these Pauls ruled this state. They were Raja Prithvipaul, Raja Janki Paul (1035 A.D.), Raja Sangram Paul (1063 A.D.), Raja Som Paul (1101 A.D.), Bahu Paul (1113 A.D.) and Amna Paul (1194 A.D.). Raja Prithvi Paul defeated Pir Panchal Pass at the time of invasion of Sultan Mehmud in1021 A.D. Raja Sangram Paul defended his Principality Rajouri when Raja Harash of Kashmir assaulted his country in 1089 A.D. Sangram Paul fought so bravely that Raja Harash was compelled to return from Prithvi Paul fort without capturing Rajouri.

As per ‘Tarikh-Rajgan-e-Rajour” Noor-Ud-Din who migrated from Punjab to Rajouri revolted against Raja Amna Paul. Raja Amna Paul was killed in the revolt and Noor-Ud-Din became the Raja of Rajouri. In this way Raja Noor-Ud-Din aid the foundation of Jaral Muslim rule in Rajouri in 1194 A.D. to 21st October 1846 A.D. Rajouri Principality remained governed by Jaral Rajas. The renowned Rajas of this dynasty were Raja Noor-Ud-Din (1194 A.D.), Raja Anwar Khan (1252 A.D.), Raja Sardar Khan (1289 A.D.), Raja Shah-Ud-Din (1412 A.D.), Raja Mast Wali Khan (1565 A.D.), Raja Taj-Ud-Din (1604 A.D.), Raja Anayat Ullah Khan (1648 A.D.), Raja Azmat Ullah Khan (1683 A.D.), Raja Izzat Ullah Khan (1762 A.D.), Raja Karam Ullah Khan (1676 A.D.), Raja Aggar Ullah Khan (1808 A.D.) and Raja Raheem Ullah Khan (1819 A.D.). Raja Raheem Ullah Khan was the last Muslim Ruler of Rajouri who governed this principality upto 21st October, 1846.

Jaral Muslim Rajas rebuilt Rajouri city during their rule. Number of Fort, Sarai, Mosque and Baradaries were constructed with the help of Mughals, on Mughal road. The area of Rajouri principality comprised proper Rajouri, Thanna, Bagla Azim Garh, Darhal, Behrote, Chingus, Nagrota and Phalyana etc. The total revenue of Rajouri was Rs.3.00 lacs in 1846. Raja Aggar Ullah Khan (1808-1819) fought bravely, first against Maharaja Ranjit Singh in 1815 and then Raja Gulab Singh in 1819. These Muslim Rajas were very liberal and accommodating. Raja Azmat Ullah was having Hindu Minister of Mehta family of Rajouri. Hindu Rajputs were given preference at the time of employment in armed forces.'

from www.rajouri.nic.in/history.htm


Home Page

Kashmir Map

Rajouri Map

Jarral Population Map - UK

Jarral Population Map - South Asia

Jarral Population Map - Pakistan

1947 - Gadar
Find out about 1947 war and mass Jarral migration to Pakistan. Also the story of those who choose to stayed back. More
From Gadar to Galgit
The story of Late Con. Hassan Jarral - The conqueror of Gulgit. More
Golden Moments (1947 to 2005)
Contact Us
The golden times for Jarrals after mass migration, the hardships and the return of Golden Moments. More